Curried Deviled Eggs

Anyone in my family can attest to the fact that I absolutely LOVE deviled eggs.  Can’t get enough of them.  My favorite part of Easter/Thanksgiving/Family reunions is the deviled eggs.  My cousin Sue makes possibly the best deviled eggs I’ve ever tasted.  And I eat my weight in them.  On any one of those days you can find me either at the veggie plate, stuffing my face full of black olives, or at the deviled eggs tray, packing my cheeks full of eggs – hamster style.

I have no idea why it took my SEVEN MONTHS to make deviled eggs here in Uganda.  I have everything I need.  Mayonnaise, mustard, salt, pepper are all widely available here.  I even bought Spanish paprika in a Western grocery store in Kampala before I came to site.  And I shipped myself red curry powder before I left!  And eggs?  Hello.  200 shillings each.  It was all sitting nicely on my shelf for SEVEN MONTHS before the idea popped into my head yesterday.  Deviled eggs.

Ugandan food, I’m very sorry to say, is severely lacking in spices and, well, flavor.  I think SEVEN MONTHS* of somehow flavorless food really pushed me into making traditional deviled eggs curried.  You can add as much curry powder as you like, I added around two teaspoons (I didn’t really measure….), but you may prefer more, or less.  The same goes for all other ingredients.  My complete lack of measuring on this recipe allows you some wiggle room when making your own curried deviled eggs.  Go crazy.  Add other stuff if you want.  I would have liked to add a little dill and/or parsley, but I’m sorely lacking in herbs these days.  (Must get that garden planted!)  Have fun with it!

*Can you tell I’m shocked to have realized I’ve been here for SEVEN MONTHS?!  Time sure flies!

Curried Deviled Eggs

3 whole Fresh Eggs
2 Tablespoons Mayonnaise
2 teaspoons Yellow Mustard
2 teaspoons Red Curry Powder
1 pinch Salt
1 pinch Black Pepper
1 pinch Spanish Paprika (for Garnish)

Begin by boiling the eggs for 20 minutes or until fully cooked. Rinse the eggs in cold water to cool them down and remove the shells. With a serrated knife, slice each egg in half length-wise and remove the cooked yolks to a separate bowl.

Mash the egg yolks with a fork and add 2T mayonnaise, 2t yellow mustard, 2t red curry powder, and a pinch each of salt and black pepper, to taste. Mix until creamy, adding more mayonnaise if needed. The amount of the spices can be adjusted to your tastes; don’t feel tied down to the amounts I’ve listed!

When the egg yolk mixture is creamy and delicious you can either spoon or pipe it directly into the waiting egg whites. An easy way to pipe the yolks if you don’t own a pastry bag is to spoon the yolk mixture into a Ziploc bag and cut the tip off one corner.

After all the yolk is back together with the whites, sprinkle the top with the Spanish paprika and serve!

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Amazing recipe. Love the simplicity of the whole thing. Will definitely try this one 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

