DC – Sausage Egg Cups with Broccoli Creme

Renata of Testado, Provado & Aprovado! was our Daring Cooks’ April 2011 hostess. Renata challenged us to think “outside the plate” and create our own edible containers!

This month’s Daring Cooks’ challenge was to create edible containers, some thing I’ve done here in the past and is probably something everyone’s had at least once.  In it’s most basic form, ravioli, stuffed veggies (like green peppers and tomatoes), calzones, and pita sandwiches are all “edible containers.”

While I did make an awesome ravioli dish this month (which I’ll post later), I hit on creating a breakfast/brunch recipe pretty early and it stuck with me.  I decided to create a sausage and eggs breakfast in one little “muffin.”  I started by creating a “crust” with the turkey sausage in silicone muffin cups.  I like using the silicone cups because after the muffins are cooked, you don’t have to deal with messy paper liners when you’re trying to enjoy breakfast.

I then poured in about two Tablespoons of beaten egg into each sausage crust.  While I liked the idea of eggs and sausage, it just wasn’t enough for me.  So I whipped up a little broccoli creme to add a little flair.  Like how I just “whipped” it up? I’m so Suzy Homemaker.  Although I did make the mistake of dumping an entire spoonful of egg into one of the muffin cups and down into the pan. Oh?  You noticed the two different types of muffin pans?  Can’t slip anything by you!

Sausage Egg Cups with Broccoli Creme
serves 12

1 roll turkey breakfast sausage (thawed)
10 large eggs
salt, pepper to taste
1 cup chopped broccoli
1/2 cup milk

 

Begin by boiling or steaming the broccoli for 3-5 minutes until the color is bright and the broccoli is just tender, but not soft.  Drain and transfer to a blender.  Add the milk and blend until creamy.

Line a muffin tin with either disposable muffin liners or silicone cups.  Using your fingers, mold the turkey sausage into the cups and up the sides.  You’re creating a “crust” so try to make it fairly even and “crust-like.”  I found that the sausage became rather sticky pretty quickly, so I kept a bowl of water nearby and whenever my fingers were too sticky, I dipped them in the water and that solved the problem!

Beat the eggs together in a bowl with the salt and pepper.  Spoon the eggs into each of the sausage crusts until they are approximately 2/3 full.  Don’t fill them completely because you still need to add the broccoli creme and they will puff as they cook.

Spoon the broccoli creme on top of the egg.  You can mix if you want, but I found that by the end of the baking process, the broccoli had all risen to the top no matter if I mixed it or not.

Bake at 350 F for 60-70 minutes, or until the eggs are set and the sausage is no longer pink.  Be careful removing the hot “muffins” as the turkey sausage will have released its fat during the cooking process and it will have pooled in the bottoms of the muffin liners.  Another reason I like the silicone liners – you can easily serve the muffins without getting sausage drippings everywhere!

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I bet these tasted great!

    Like

  2. They are perfect I love the meat cup and the filling sounds delicious. The broccoli cream is outstanding bravo bravo bravo. I adore the whole idea.

    Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

    Like

  3. Love the sausage cups! They are too cute and that broccoli creme looks so pretty on top!

    Like

  4. Great idea! I love that you don’t use bread as your bowl.

    Like

  5. That was an amazing idea! I’m sure it was delicious! You did a great job on the challenge, thanks so much for participating!

    Like

Leave a Reply

