Tilapia with Citrus

 

I love my kitty.  I truly, honestly do.  I rescued here back in August and I’ve been in love ever since.  She’s always excited to see me, whether I’ve been gone for 8 hours or 5 minutes.  I’ll open the door and she’ll be standing on the back of the living room chair crying out either how happy she is to see me or that she can’t believe I abandoned her for so long when her food bowl is almost empty.

She plays with me, curls up next to me at three in the morning, and provides hours of entertainment.

 

 

I love my kitty.  Except from 10 pm to way past midnight.  Then I strongly dislike my kitty.  While I try to play with her a lot before I go to bed, she’s still decided that bedtime means play time.  More like, “extra loud playtime right next to where the human is trying to sleep.”

She does this thing with her favorite toy {a long piece of fabric that has feathers on one end and a plastic wand on the other} where she bites down on the fabric part just above the handle and almost chases the plastic handle across the room.  While doing this {at 2 in the morning} she bangs into things, gets it stuck under doors, and generally drives me crazy.

“Why don’t you just hide the offending toy?” You might ask.  Well, I do.  And then she finds one of the other 1 billion toys that I can’t stop myself from buying and brings it into the bedroom and jingles it around the floor in there.  Or she finds my shoes and chews on the shoelaces.  “Why don’t you just shut her out of the room?” You  might also ask.  Because then she paws at the door and howls to be let in.  For a really, really long time.

But those few {sleepless} hours don’t stop me from loving her.  It’s the bright green eyes and the “who me? I’m not causing mischief” faces that suckers me every time.

 

 

And what does this have to do with fish?

Nothing.

Absolutely nothing.

 

 

Tilapia with Citrus
Makes 1

1 tilapia filet
2 slices lemon, 1/4 inch thick and cut in half
1 mandarin orange, peeled and segmented
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon dried parsley
1 teaspoon Herbes de Provence
1 Tablespoon unsalted butter, broken into small pieces
Sea salt and ground black pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

On a sheet of parchment paper, arrange half of the lemon slices and half of the mandarin oranges.  Top with half the oregano, parsley and Herbes de Provence.  Add sea salt and pepper.

Place the tilapia filet on top of the citrus-herb mixture horizontally.  Finish by adding the remaining lemon, mandarin oranges, oregano, parsley, Herbes de Provence, sea salt and pepper, to taste, and the broken pieces of unsalted butter.

Make a parchment packet by folding in the left and right sides and bringing together the top and bottom pieces of parchment.  Roll these down together until the parchment packet is sealed.

Bake at 350 degrees in the middle of your oven for 30-40 minutes, or until the tilapia is cooked through and flakes easily.  Serve hot.

Leave a Reply

