Regular Lime Pie

 

My dad’s birthday was on Tuesday.  For the past few birthdays and holidays I have made homemade gifts – scones, salad dressing, fudge, caramels.

When I asked my dad what he wanted for his birthday, his answer was simple and immediate: Key Lime Pie.  But, this being Kansas, Key Limes were nowhere to be found.  I went to three grocery stores and one natural foods store and still, no Key Limes.  Luckily for my dad, the amazing Ree saved the day!

 

Thus, I give you: Regular Lime Pie.

 

 

Now I’ve never had key lime pie before, I had nowhere to start.  I wasn’t even sure what a good [key] lime pie should taste like.  Is it sweet?  Is it tart?  Should the texture be creamy, like a custard?  Or more jiggly like jello?

I always feel weird making something for other people that I don’t actually enjoy at all (caramel) or that I’ve never had before (cheesecake, [key] lime pie).  How will I really know I made it right?

 

I was terrified after making this pie for my dad.  It seemed too easy.  [Key] Lime Pie was supposed to be difficult, exotic, unattainable.  But this pie wasn’t.  It was simple, it was easy, it was seven ingredients – four if you buy a graham cracker crust instead of making your own.  But really, make  your own crust.  The time it takes to make a graham cracker crust is less time than it’ll take you to drive to the store, find a crust, wait in line, buy it, and drive home.  Make the crust.

 

 

Now I’m not a huge fan of [key] lime pie, so I did not partake, but I hear from everyone who tried it that it was very good.  So if you like [key] lime pie, you’ll like this.  It’s tart and creamy and graham crackery.  It’s all that a regular lime pie should be.  Don’t let my weirdo taste buds dissuade you.  Try this pie!  Make this pie for someone you love!

 

 

Regular Lime Pie
Makes one pie
Adapted from The Pioneer Woman

Crust

1.5 cups graham cracker crumbs (I find it’s easiest to make graham cracker crumbs with the help of a food processor.  If you don’t have one, you can put them in a resealable bag and crush away)
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup melted unsalted butter

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, combine the graham cracker crumbs, granulated sugar, and unsalted butter.  Press into a pie pan and bake for 5 minutes, or until golden and set.  Remove the crust from the oven and set aside to cool slightly.

Filling

1 heaping Tablespoon lime zest
1/2 cup lime juice
2 whole large egg yolks
1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk

Mix the lime zest, lime juice, and egg yolks in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk.  Add the sweetened condensed milk and mix on high until smooth and thick.

Pour the mixture into the crust and bake for 15 minutes, or until it is no longer jiggly in the center.

Refrigerate for at least four hours.

Leave a comment