Spicy Kale Chips

Spicy Kale Chips || The Little Bite

Lately, I find I can’t make the words form.

Spicy Kale Chips || The Little Bite

I know they are there, lurking in the recesses of my mind, but no amount of knowing and wishing and wrenching will change it: there they remain.

Sometimes I hear a whispering of the sounds and shapes of letters in the dar and dusty corners of my mind.  My mind is a bank vault and no amount of dynomite will relase the secrets held within.

And thus, I am relegated to discussing the weather like a bad first date.  News flash: yesterday, it rained.

Spicy Kale Chips || The Little Bite

I opened the windows and doors and watched just inhaled.  I love the smell of rain: the roundness and earthiness of it.  The way it flows into the house and settles in the smallest corners.  I sat on the couch, neck bent impossibly back, watching large droplets smash against the skylights, clouds slate grey peeking out through the white of the ceiling.

And there I sat, listening to the thuder roll over the house and the patter against the glass and just inhaled the scent of rain and spring.

Spicy Kale Chips || The Little Bite

Spicy Kale Chips

1 bunch kale
2 Tablespoons olive oil
salt, pepper to taste
1/4 scant teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon red chili powder

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Depending on how much kale you wish to use, you may need two parchment lined baking sheets.

Begin by thoroughly washing and patting dry the kale leaves.  Remove the tough stems and middle ribs.  Tear the kale into bite-size pieces and arrange in a single layer on the baking sheet(s).  Drizzle the olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and chili pepper and mix thoroughly with your hands, making sure to get in all of the little nooks and crevices.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes.  Check the chips at 8 minutes and each minute after since the kale can burn quickly.

I store mine (when I don’t eat it all immediately!) open to the air since sealing it in a container tends to cause the kale to lose some of its crispiness.

Leave a Reply

