1.52

52 Weeks of Creating 1.52 || Radish and HareMy Friend, the Lake – April, 4 2015

A few weeks ago I was listening to the Elise Gets Crafty podcast.  Her guest was Crystal Moody, who spoke of her year-long project, “Year of Creative Habits.”  Crystal had four simple rules for her project:

  1. Choose one creative habit.
  2. Do it everyday for one month.
  3. Share my effort/progress with others.
  4. Reflect on the month and make changes.

Listening to Crystal speak about year of creative habits, I began to feel a twinge of jealousy.  While I cook regularly, I don’t feel particularly creative.  In high school, I participated in my school’s art program and painted or drew or acted daily.  In the years after high school, life happened.  The adultness of life and work and class envelops every free moment, or at least it seems.  I miss the active creativity.  I can’t remember the last time I seriously painted or drew.  I miss it.  I don’t feel satisfied solely through cooking and photographing the result.

And so: a challenge.  Fifty-two weeks of creating.  Whether a painting, drawing, crafting, or diy, I will create something each week.

This is my first.  I think the last time I painted was in high school, a good 12 years ago.  It’ll take me a while until I feel comfortable again with the brush in my hand, but I’m pleased with my start.  I was frustrated at the start: I couldn’t get the paint to flow smoothly against the canvas, I couldn’t make it blend; I wasn’t happy.  However, soon the rhythm found me – the swoop of the brush against the canvas, the tap, tap, tap on the littlest trees.  Finding the right mix of green to yellow to brown.  It was soothing.

1.52

 

Leave a Reply

